Galeria de la Raza
Back About the Archive View by Artist View Exhibitions by Year ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ Galeria de la Raza Home
  Gustavo Ramos Rivera
Armando Rascón
Alejandra Regalado
Rosangela Rennó
Yosimar Reyes
Michael V. Rios
 Neil Rivas
Alex Rivera
Calixto Robles
Artemio Rodriguez
Isis Rodriguez
 Catalina Rodríguez
Patricia Rodriguez
Eugene Rodriguez
Peter Rodriguez
Abel Rodriguez
 Favianna Rodriguez
Daniel Rodriguez
Luis Fernando Roldán
Royal Chicano Air Force
Alberto [Beto] Ruiz
  Participated in the Following Exhibitions From Tradition to Innovation: La Moda <1993>
Photographic Memory & Other Shots in the Dark <2002>
Digital Mural Project: Armando Rascón <2002>
Armando Rascón: Border Xicanography <2003>
Urban Echoes: Wind, River, Trees, Clouds, Chickens, and Orange <2004>
SU ARTE HERE: Five Years of Galería’s Digital Mural Project <2005>
WEEDE PEEPO: Icons, Portraits y Gente <2005>
Related Media for this Artist
1 3 0

Armando Rascón

Born in Calexico, California, Armando Rascón's photography, videos, and installations are immersed in the contradictions of the US/Mexico border. Rascón’s images and media range from religious folk-icons to emblematic family portraits, from the ritual to the digital, from succinct post-modern representations to the baroque details of border iconographies. Rascón has participated in group- exhibitions in New York, San Diego, Los Angeles, Chicago, Paris, Cologne, Copenhagen, Stockholm and elsewhere. His solo work has included projects for INTAR Gallery in New York, the Los Angeles Center for Photographic Studies, Randolph Street Gallery in Chicago, the San Francisco Art Institute, the Blue Star Arts Space in San Antonio, and the Newark Art Museum in New Jersey. His work was the subject of a breakthrough joint exhibition at San Diego's Museum of Contemporary Art and Centro Cultural de la Raza. Rascón's art has been supported by grants from the California Arts Council, Lannan Foundation, National Endowment for the Arts, US-Mexico Fund for Culture and the Rockefeller Foundation. He was the recipient of the prestigious Adeline Kent Award.